Posted in Art

The 100 Day Project: Week 4

Notice how I’ve been playing around with the titles? Honestly don’t know what to call these updates but if you’ve liked any of the variations I’ve used thus far, please let me know! Feedback is much appreciated.

So, let’s get into this update:

Day 22: Freedom

Freedom themed Art Collage

I ran out of gluesticks again so I had to improvise with liquid glue and a paint brush. I tried my best to keep it even but Yara got pretty wrinkled up from it. Speaking of Yara, I got the idea of adding the text “shadow” from Brianna Collins aka @journalbean on Instagram. Her art journals are so dope and her work has inspired a lot of what I’ve added to my latest collages.

Day 23: Girl Power

Girl Power themed Art Collage

This was actually a theme that one of my friends suggested. My grandma found some unopened glue sticks in her junk drawer so that made things easier. I love this quote from Taraji P. Henson. She’s such an inspiration and I love the way she advocates for mental health awareness.

Day 24: Food

Food themed Art Collage

I had a veggie burger that morning and decided to use the image on the box for a collage and made food the theme for the day.

Day 25: Boss Moves

Boss Moves themed Art Collage

More experimenting. I was flipping through my magazines for inspiration and just went from there. It’s also heavily inspired by the Journal Bean Instagram page. I was playing around with styling and adding accent marks.

Day 26: Level Up

Level Up themed Art Collage

This is one of my favorites, mainly because of the blocking. I just love the way that Ciara’s pose fits the chair. I finally bought some double sided tape and that’s been making the process a whole lot easier. I love the way that I can move things around and mess around with overlapping the images easily. I also got white gel pens for highlights and those have been fun to work with.

Day 27: Creativity

Creativity themed Art Collage

I feel like I’m starting to see some serious growth in my collage art style. I favor a full page with lots of overlap and that’s really showing through in these pieces. I have a sticker book that I’ve had lying around for months and now I’ve started using it for accents to these pieces.

Day 28: Revolution

Revolution themed Art Collage

This one was fun! I kept messing around with it and adding more details. I spent quite a bit of time on it and I love the end result.

Which one is your favorite?

Are you an artist?

How was your week?

Let me know in the comments below, let’s chat!

Author:

Rachelle Saint Louis is a Haitian-American writer, born and raised in South Florida. She received a 2018 Silver Medal in the Scholastic Art and Writing Competition for her poem “Red Blood Cell.” She is currently a Psychology and English double major at Florida Atlantic University. Her poetry has been published in Rigorous Magazine. Rachelle has been writing poetry since the 7th grade and you can often find her performing Spoken Word at local open mics.

Leave a comment